From the International Medical Informatics Association

2014 HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award – Nominations Close 03 February

HIMSS Europe has launched the nomination process for the HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award, which recognises an individual who, in the judgment of the HIMSS Europe Governing Council, has demonstrated significant leadership in promoting the use of information technology in healthcare in Europe. To be eligible for the HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award, the candidate must:

  • be a resident of Europe
  • be professionally active in Europe.

The HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award is given in recognition of European level leadership in the field of eHealth. The award may be made for leadership in eHealth deployment, innovation, policy development, advocacy or training at a European level towards the transformation of healthcare. It may be made to an exceptional contribution, for a sustained engagement, or for a lifetime of exceptional leadership, which has had an impact across Europe.

If you have any questions regarding the HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award nomination process, please contact Ela Staniuk, email: estaniuk[at]

The HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award will be presented at the 2014 World of Health IT Conference and Exhibition in Nice, France on Friday, 4 April 2014. HIMSS Europe is accepting submissions until Monday, 3 February 2014.For more information about HIMSS Europe, please visit


January 16, 2014 Posted by | conference, Europe, HIMSS | , , , | Leave a comment

CHIA Awards, Steven Huesing Scholarship (Canada) – Nominations Invited

COACH and ITAC Health invite nominations for the CHIA (Canadian Health Informatics Awards) and the Steven Huesing Scholarship. Nominations/applications are due by 5 pm EDT on February 28, 2014. Full details of the range of awards and the processes are at

ehealth2014A variety of CHIA awards and the Steven Huesing Scholarship are available to pay tribute to outstanding accomplishment. The CHIA program is presented by COACH and ITAC Health. An impartial Adjudication Committee, comprised of leaders in the health informatics profession, will evaluate all nominations and choose the recipient(s) for all awards. In the event that all submissions in a particular category are deemed to not have met the criteria, the Adjudication Committee may choose not to give out the award. Nominators and selected award recipients will be notified in advance of the proposed awards presentation so they can make travel plans to the CHIA Gala at e-Health 2014 in Vancouver June 3. All information provided to COACH/ITAC Health will be treated as confidential.

Questions should be directed to Elaine Huesing (ITAC Health) or Shannon Bott (COACH) as per the webpage above. Awards include the Clinician Leadership Award, Corporate Citizenship Award, Emerging Leader in Health Informatics Award, Excellence in Canadian Telehealth  Award, and many others. The Steven Huesing Scholarship Award is open to undergraduate and graduate students.


January 16, 2014 Posted by | Canada, conference | , , | Leave a comment

IMIA Award of Excellence 2010

The IMIA Award of Excellence 2010, presented at Medinfo2010 in Cape Town, South Africa, was jointly awarded to Marion Ball (USA) and Hans Peterson (Sweden).

The Award is IMIA’s highest honour, and is given (currently) every three years in conjunction with Medinfo. The recipient of the IMIA Award of Excellence is an individual whose personal commitment and dedication to medical informatics has made a lasting contribution to medicine and healthcare through her or his achievements in research, education, development or application in the field of medical informatics. Previous recipients have been Francois Gremy (France) in 2004 and Jan van Bemmel (Netherlands) in 2007.

The formal Award presentation was made at the closing plenary of Medinfo2010 by IMIA President Reinhold Haux. While Marion was present to receive her award, Hans was unfortunately unable to be present due to family illness and his need to act as a carer at home. Both Marion and Hans are well known in their own countries and internationally for their contributions to IMIA and to the development of health and medical informatics globally. Both have previously held the post of IMIA President, as well as holding many other influential positions and receiving many recognitions for their contributions.

October 7, 2010 Posted by | IMIA | , , | Leave a comment

COACH and ITAC Awards – calls for nominations

Nominations are now open for the COACH and ITAC Health Awards that make up the CHIA awards program, and are due by 5 p.m. EDT on September 15, 2009.

The awards will be presented at the 5th annual Canadian Health Informatics Awards (CHIA) Gala, co-hosted by ITAC Health, the Information Technology Association of Canada, and COACH, Canada’s Health Informatics Association. The event will be held at the Four Seasons Hotel, Toronto on Thursday, November 19, 2009.

Further full information is available at and

COACH Awards include the Steven Huesing Scholarship, Leadership in the Field of Health Informatics, Innovation in the Adoption of Health Informatics, Community-Based Physician Leader/Innovator and Emerging Leader in Health Informatics. ITAC Health Awards include Company of the Year, Corporate Citizenship, Project Implementation Team of the Year, and Healthcare Transformation.

COACH is Canada’s Health Informatics Association – – and ITAC Health members comprise companies that provide products and services to the Canadian Health ITC Sector –

August 22, 2009 Posted by | Canada | , , , | Leave a comment