From the International Medical Informatics Association

New IMIA Board Members; President-elect Prof. Hyeoun-Ae Park

The end of each Medinfo conference is a traditional period of transition at IMIA as new Board members, elected the previous year, take up their posts. In addition, new members are often elected at the General Assembly meeting held in conjunction with each Medinfo.

SONY DSCThe main election that, from now, will be held at each Medinfo GA is that of the President-elect, who takes office with immediate effect. The GA approved the nomination of Prof. Hyeoun-Ae Park (Korea) as the new President-elect. She holds this post until Medinfo2015. She then becomes IMIA President for the period from Medinfo2015 to Medinfo2017. She will be the third IMIA President from the Asia-Pacific region (following Prof. Shigekoto Kaihara and Prof. K C Lun), the third woman to be IMIA President (following Dr Marion Ball and Prof. Nancy Lorenzi), and the first nurse to be IMIA President. She will also currently continue in her role as Chair of the IMIA-NI (Nursing Informatics) Special Interest Group.

The IMIA President is now Dr. Lincoln de Assis Moura Jr. (Brazil) for the period 2013 – 2015. Past President Prof. Dr. Antoine Geissbuhler (Switzerland) will chair the Nominating Committee and continues as WHO Liaison Officer

Other key changes are:

  • VP Medinfo: Dr Alvaro Margolis (Uruguay) 2013 – 2016 (succeeding Prof. Riccardo Bellazzi)
  • VP Special Affairs: Dr Monique Jaspers (The Netherlands) 2013 – 2016 (succeeding Prof. Arie Hasman)
  • VP WGs and SIGs: Dr Tze-Yun Leong (Singapore) 2013 – 2016 (succeeding Dr. Hyeoun-Ae Park)

In addition, Dr. Amado Espinosa (Mexico) succeeds Dr Carol Hullin (Chile) as IMIA-LAC President and so as VP for IMIA-LAC to the IMIA Board.

The full list is on the IMIA website.

IMIA and EFMI Board memebers following their successful joint meeting on 18 August, 2013. Photo courtesy Antoine Geissbuhler.


August 29, 2013 - Posted by | EFMI, IMIA, medinfo, Medinfo2013 | ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: