From the International Medical Informatics Association

IMIA Award of Excellence 2013 – Nominations Invited

IMIA invites nominations for the fourth IMIA Award of Excellence, to be presented at Medinfo2013 in Copenhagen, Denmark. The closing date will be 10 March, 2013, and nominations must be received by the IMIA CEO (by email to imia[at] by that date. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

The primary criterion for a potential recipient of the IMIA Award of Excellence is “an individual whose personal commitment and dedication to medical informatics has made a lasting contribution to medicine and healthcare through her or his achievements in research, education, development or application in the field of medical informatics.”

Nominations have no specific format, but must include sufficient information and supporting details about the nominee to both demonstrate how they meet the primary criterion and allow their nomination to be judged against others. They should contain, at a minimum:

  • a one page summary of the nominee’s most important accomplishments/contributions;
  • a current CV; and
  • 2-3 letters of support from named referees, or nominator and seconders.

The IMIA Award of Excellence committee for 2013 (as approved by the 2012 IMIA GA meeting in Beijing):

  • IMIA President Antoine Geissbuhler (chair, Switzerland)
  • IMIA VP Medinfo Riccardo Bellazzi (Italy)
  • R Brian Haynes (Canada)
  • Hyeoun-Ae Park (South Korea)

The IMIA Award of Excellence Committee will consider nominations and make a recommendation on the Award winner(s), and submit this to the IMIA Board for ratification at its April 2013 meeting. The recommendation of the IMIA Board will be final. As part of the Award, IMIA will provide funding support to the recipient(s) to attend Medinfo2013 to receive the Award.

Any queries should be directed to imia[at] Further information about the history of the Award, and previous recipients, is at

January 4, 2013 Posted by | award, IMIA, Medinfo2013 | , | Leave a comment