From the International Medical Informatics Association

IMIA Award of Excellence 2010

The IMIA Award of Excellence 2010, presented at Medinfo2010 in Cape Town, South Africa, was jointly awarded to Marion Ball (USA) and Hans Peterson (Sweden).

The Award is IMIA’s highest honour, and is given (currently) every three years in conjunction with Medinfo. The recipient of the IMIA Award of Excellence is an individual whose personal commitment and dedication to medical informatics has made a lasting contribution to medicine and healthcare through her or his achievements in research, education, development or application in the field of medical informatics. Previous recipients have been Francois Gremy (France) in 2004 and Jan van Bemmel (Netherlands) in 2007.

The formal Award presentation was made at the closing plenary of Medinfo2010 by IMIA President Reinhold Haux. While Marion was present to receive her award, Hans was unfortunately unable to be present due to family illness and his need to act as a carer at home. Both Marion and Hans are well known in their own countries and internationally for their contributions to IMIA and to the development of health and medical informatics globally. Both have previously held the post of IMIA President, as well as holding many other influential positions and receiving many recognitions for their contributions.

October 7, 2010 - Posted by | IMIA | , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: